This table links into the marriage legislation of this states and tries to summarize a few of their points that are salient. Those enthusiastic about the wedding legislation of a specific jurisdiction should review its legislation straight as opposed to depend on this summary which might never be completely accurate or complete.
Related materials that are LII:
|State||typical Law Marriage||chronilogical age of permission to marry||Medical exams||Marriage license|
|Age with parental permission||Age without parental permission||Max. duration between exam and license||range of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit legitimacy (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d||three months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||–||–||–||1 Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No year||18||–||–||f||–|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||1 month, d, h||–||–||ninety days|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||–||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||–||–||twenty four hours, j||1 month|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, ag ag e||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag ag ag e, k||18||–||i||3 times, l||thirty days|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||–||–||—-||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||–||m, n||–||–|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||–||p||one day||60 times|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 ag ag e||18||–||q||–||60 times|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||–||–||3 times||–|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||–||–||3 times, d||a few months|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||–||–||–|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||ninety days|
|Maryland- §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||–||–||48 hours, d||half a year|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||–||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||–||–||3 times, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||–||–||5 times, d||six months|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||1 month||t||3 times, d||–|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||–||t||–||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||–||i||–||12 months|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||–||–||–||12 months|
|brand brand brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||–||–||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 ag e, u||18||30 times||t||–||–|
|brand New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||–||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 ag ag ag e||18||–||–||–||–|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag e||18||–||–||5 times, d, x||60 times|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||1 month, d||t||y||30 times|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||–||–||3 times, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||–||aa||–||three months|
|sc- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||–||–||one day||–|
|South Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag ag e||18||–||–||–||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||–||–||3 times, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles the and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||–||–||cc||30 days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||thirty days, d||t||one day, d||–|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||–||ee||–||60 days|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||–||ff||3 times||60 times|
|western Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 e||18||–||t||3 times, d||–|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||–||n||5 times, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||–||i||–||–|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||–|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 ag ag ag e||–||t||–||–|
suggests that the writers for this dining table were not able to find any details about the subject
- (a) Parental permission maybe not needed if small once was hitched.
- (b) Other statutory demands use.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental permission.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial permission.
- (d) Waiting period can be prevented
- ( ag ag e) Younger parties may get permit in case there is maternity or birth of youngster.
- (f) Parties must register notice of intention to marry with neighborhood clerk.
- (g) No age limitations
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried girl, perhaps maybe not minors, are residing together as guy and spouse, they might, without wellness certification, be married upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal illness and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before expiration of twenty-four hour waiting duration; non-residents, before termination of 96 hour period that is waiting.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge needed.
- (l) Unless events are 18 many years of age or even more, or feminine is expecting, or candidates would be the moms and dads of a residing child created away from wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are particular exceptions, and region judge may waive examination that is medical proof that crisis exists.
- (letter) candidates must get informative data on AIDS and certify having read it.
- (o) Judicial permission might be provided whenever moms and dads will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle cellular anemia given at demand of examining physician.
- (q) Any female that is unsterilized 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological reaction to rubella, or even a written record that the rubella vaccine had been administered on or after her very first birthday. Judge may by order dispense by using these demands.
- (r) If events have reached minimum 16 years old, proof age and permission of events in individual are needed. In case a parent is sick an affidavit because of the parent that is incapacitated a doctor’s affidavit needed.
- (s) Doctor’s certification should be filed thirty days prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal conditions. In WV and OK, Circuit court bestbrides.org/asian-brides legit judge might waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may get license in special circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties need parental consent and permission of judge, no more youthful than 14 for males and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle mobile might be needed.
- (x) candidates under age 18 must suggest that they will have had wedding counseling.
- (y) If one or both events are underneath the age for wedding without parental permission, three time waiting duration.
- (z) If a celebration does not have any parent living within state, plus one celebration has residence in state for 6 months, no authorization needed.
- (aa) real assessment and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling needed.
- (bb) Unless events are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour waiting duration after issuance of permit.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to deliver for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of permit to people under 18 and people formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or must certanly be supplied with all about AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam required, but events must register affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious disease that is venereal.
- (gg) No common-law wedding could be entered into, however these states recognize typical legislation marriages which were entered into before these times:
- Georgia- joined into ahead of 1, 1997 are recognized january,
- Idaho- joined into ahead of January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Indiana- joined into just before 1, 1958 are recognized january,
- Ohio- entered into just before October 10, 1991 are recognized,
- Oklahoma – entered into just before November 1, 1998 are recognized, current situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into ahead of September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B., 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or even January 1, 2005 (see 2004 home Bill No. 2719) are recognized.
- (hh) Minimum age for common-law wedding determined to be 12; legislature instituted minimum chronilogical age of 18 for marriages started on or after September 1, 2006
Supply: situated in component for a chart within the global World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries have now been updated through overview of the statutes and links included to allow direct assessment regarding the state statutes.